Proud

image

Thinksoul25

This is a piece that is laden with an emotional undercurrent of rage and a rebellion against sexist relationships where a woman with a mind and will (strong and confident) is overlooked, in favour of a lady who is just about material acquisition with little or no mental &ย  intellectual content, having not a shred of independent opinion aside that of her man… No insult intended, “This is the real woman”-some people would argue. Well, I am the Other woman and I celebrate all the Other women, all over the world. We have dignity and pride, and unapologetically so.

Here is what I have to say, in the way I know best.

image

Artist unknown

I craved for Affection,
I was slammed by your rejection.
In my humble simplicity,
You saw an Abject.
helpless and needy.
Wrathful, I stood out with a protest.
I saw your sightlessness,
Your presumed almightiness.
You know,
It takes just a second to turn a state
Rough in the raw,
To be refined into quality.
I was Ambitious andย  Desirous
I was Proud and Principled
I was Strong in Mind and Will
You craved a follower, a submissive…
You left Gold for Plastic.
I melt in pity for the unfortunate puppets,
Who gets sidetracked into your web of manipulation.
I am Proud and Happy.
I am Contempt and Confident.
At the end of the day,
It’s your loss both ways.

image

Favim.com

-Charis Black

Thanks for visiting BlackWordz today, It’s a really complex world out there and compromises must be made but be sure of “whom” and “for what” you are compromising. Is it worth it? Because all that glitter is not valuable. I will be looking forward to your comments. Till next time, Chao!

About Charis Black

A Graduate of The University of Ibadan, Studied English Language and Literary Studies. A passionate Writer. Travelling, Reading, Watching movies, Networking and eating confectioneries are top on the list of her many hobbies. "Writing is my life and with my writings , I am making great impact in my world" -Goodness 2016.
This entry was posted in Life, poems, prose poetry, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Proud

  1. Oh my god! This is amazing…๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “You left Gold for Plastic.” Says it all, really!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Charis Black says:

      Too much pent up emotion. Those things you can’t say to even a close friend and if you don’t say it you might explode or burst . So this is like leaking away pent up hurt and grievances in my life just to preserve yourself because if you don’t, you would just be poisoning your insides. Thanks for reading Deborah๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  3. novelistbaba says:

    “I melt in pity for the unfortunate puppets”
    yes puppets, they are.
    and its unfortunate.
    when given the choice
    most of us;
    choose the walls,
    of acceptance.
    another amazing poem…..great work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex Sarll says:

    This is absolutely awesome!! Just left me wanting to do a fist pump ๐Ÿ™‚ Every line says it all, and then the end- it’s your loss both ways ๐Ÿ™‚ Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

